Bias Binding Scares Me! Viva la France! Happy People!

Bias binding scares me!  So,most of my quilts have mitered corners & there are  little gathers around the curves when I occasionally bind a rounded corner.  Several years ago I took a class on binding and learned a really nifty way to cut binding from a tube of fabric for the perfect bias binding strips.  It worked great in the class, but life interfered and I promptly forgot how to do it and misplaced (lost) my print-outs & notes.  So much for my new-found knowledge! Bias binding

I’m so glad I found this article, “Bias Quilt Binding:  Three Ways“, and one of the ways is the fabric tube with rotary method.   There are additional links embedded in this article that also provide very clear instructions.  Try it.

For those of you fortunate enough to be in France in September, don’t miss the European Patchwork Meeting, September 7-16, 2013 to be held throughout the villages of the Val d’Argent near Sainte Marie aux Mines in Alsace, France.  Near the German border, the entire area is a natural and artistic treasure that features many small romantic villages, panoramic scenes and cultural heritage.  This area is the birthplace of the Mennonite movement so the town of St. Marie aux Mines is the perfect place for the largest quilt show in Europe that will be celebrating the 300th anniversary of the start of the Amish movement.  What a terrific experience for quilters! Wish I could attend.france

The thought of this wonderful quilt show in France with over 1,000 exhibits distributed throughout 14 scenic villages makes me happy.  I’m sure there will be thousands of happy quilters visiting the show then going home inspired and motivated to create  beauty in their own little section of the world.  I ran across an article about happiness that gave me pause.  Don’t worry, be happy!  If you can’t travel to France for this quilting celebration, we’ll find you a special retreat or show or exhibition near you.  So, stay tuned.

What do you think?

